Protect Your Rights
Available 24/7

Attention:
We Are Open and Accepting Consultations by Telephone.

Free Consultation 201.340.9338
DWI Defense The Law Firm You Can Trust During Difficult Times

Englewood NJ DWI Lawyer

Arrested? Call Us if You've Been Arrested in Bergen, Hudson, or Passaic County

Whiskey and car keys - DWI Defense in New Jersey

An arrest for drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs does not have to result in an automatic conviction. That is what prosecutors want you to think. Englewood DWI defense attorney Alan M. Liebowitz encourages all clients to contact him before talking to anyone else. Mr. Liebowitz can help protect your rights and he will work to help you get the best possible outcome in your situation.

Do not allow law enforcement to coerce you into pleading guilty just to make the arrest "go away." Simply put, a plea bargain often makes a bad situation worse.

If you are facing charges for DWI, contact us online to discuss your case with an experienced Englewood NJ DWI lawyer.

Overcoming the Challenges of a Drunk Driving Charge

At the New Jersey law office of Alan M. Liebowitz, Esq., LLC, Mr. Liebowitz recognizes the challenges in defending a client charged with drunk driving. However, those are obstacles that he is ready to overcome, challenging an arrest at every turn by building a strong defense.

Attorney Liebowitz can:

  • Challenge the reasoning behind the initial traffic stop.
  • Question whether the Breathalyzer was properly maintained and calibrated. If it was not, the reading may have been inaccurate.
  • Question whether the police officer conducted the field sobriety tests properly.
  • If a blood sample was taken, he will investigate whether it was properly obtained and processed.

Penalties for DWI in New Jersey

In New Jersey, DWI offenses are treated very seriously and carry some potentially severe consequences for people who are convicted. Even first-time offenders face possible jail time, temporary loss of license, fines and expensive surcharges in addition to the related problems associated with having a criminal record.

Under New Jersey law, the legal limit for driving is .08 percent for those over the age of 21.

First-time offenders whose blood alcohol content ranges between .08 and .10 percent face up to:

  • 30 days in jail
  • 3-month license suspension
  • $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years
  • Fines
  • Fees
  • Mandatory classes

For those whose BAC is greater than .10 percent, the potential penalties increase in severity. The fine is increased to $300 to $500, and the person must attend a mandatory minimum of six hours of drug and alcohol education classes for two consecutive days. People in this category may have their driver's license suspended for seven months to one year.

Second-time offenders can expect to:

  • Lose their license for two years
  • Serve between 48 hours and 90 days in jail
  • Require the installation of an ignition interlock device in their vehicle

​​​​​​The fine for these people increases to a range of $500 to $1,000.

Penalties for third-time offenses include:

  • 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driving privileges for 10 years
  • Mandatory in-patient treatment
  • A fine of $1,000
  • A $1,500 yearly insurance surcharge for three years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device

When people have been accused of a DWI offense, they may benefit by speaking with a Englewood NJ DWI attorney as soon as possible. An attorney may be able to identify defenses and negotiate a lesser plea. He or she may be able to fight for their clients at hearings and jury trials as well.

Implied Consent Law in New Jersey

Under New Jersey implied consent law, all drivers are required to submit to a breath test if lawfully detained on suspicion of driving while intoxicated. If you refuse a breathalyzer test, you may face license penalties and fines in addition to the penalties for a DWI charge.

If you refuse to take a breath test you can face the following penalties:

  • First Offense – a $300 to $500 fine and no license for seven to 12 months
  • Second Offense – a $500 to $1,000 fine and a two-year license revocation
  • Third Offense - a $1,000 fine and a 10-year license revocation

Most often, the license revocation you receive for your DWI charge will run consecutively with the license revocation for a refusal.

Ignition interlock devices (IIDs) may be ordered by the judge for the following periods:

  • First DWI Offense – Six months to one year of IID restriction
  • Two or Subsequent DWI Offense – One to three years of IID restriction

If you had a BAC level of .15% or more, or you refused testing, the IID installation is required.

Get the Aggressive Representation You Need

A revoked license, skyrocketing insurance rates and ignition interlock devices only add to the punishment of a drunk driving conviction. With so much at stake, you need a seasoned Englewood DWI attorney at your side. Pleading guilty without securing legal representation should never be an option. The problem will not just "go away." The consequences are severe and long lasting.

Arrested for DWI? Call our Englewood NJ DWI attorney today at (201) 340-9338 to schedule a free initial consultation.